01388 827380


Key Stage 4 Option Pathways

What are options?

In Years 10 and 11, all pupils will study a core curriculum comprising of the following subjects:

  • English – Language and Literature
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Religious Education
  • Physical Education
  • IT/Computing
  • CEIAG (Careers)

‘Options’ are the subjects studied additionally to the above. Pupils are given a choice of a wide range of subjects that lead to qualifications or accreditations.

The following ‘Option’ subjects/qualifications/accreditations are currently offered at The Oaks Secondary School:

  • History (GCSE/Entry Level)
  • Geography (Entry Level)
  • Art (GCSE/Entry Level)
  • Resistant Materials (Entry Level)
  • Textiles and Expressive Arts (Entry Level)
  • Food Technology (BTEC Level 1 and 2)
  • Horticulture (BTEC)
  • Enterprise and Employability (BTEC Level 1 & NOCN Entry Level)
  • Work Skills, Training and Development (NOCN)
  • ASDAN Award
  • Duke of Edinburgh (Bronze Award)
  • Preparing for Work (Entry Level 3)

What does each subject entail?

For a more information about the options process as well as a breakdown of each subject/qualification/accreditation offered, please see the Options booklets linked below.

Options Booklet 2024 Website
Rights Respecting Schools
Local Offer
New Starters
Home Learning
Magic Breakfast
Covid-19 Information
LPPA Certificate